Cafe du Coin

Step inside

I walk in to this small place where the old bike is parked outside. The candle is casting a warm light on the wet streets of Helsinki. Inside it is small, a bit messy but warm. A cute lady welcomes me, is she russian, I’m not sure. I order a latte, two shots espresso she asks me, I nod. I’m hungry for breakfast so I order a rye bread too. I could have chosen a ciabatta, but I’m finnish and I love rye. She let’s me choose between the fillings, seven different, all southern european. Pesto, goat cheese, grilled vegetables, ham etc.

I sit down beside the window. I am the only one there. I watch the business dressed people walk by to the law firms and ministries around. I am not jealous. I have taken myself time. I hear her making my coffee, and how she puts the spoon on the plate. Here it comes, I hear her foot steps.

Now, before me I have my latte and rye bread filled with pesto, cheese and prosciutto. I am not sad she didn’t have soy milk, this coffee is delicious. There is no space, she says. The pesto bubbles up from the holes in the rye bread, it’s crunchy and tasty. It is easy to smile.

She continues to do her things, wash the dishes to the sound of Yann Tiersen and Edith Piaf. She drops the pan or something with a loud noice and mumbles anteeksi -I’m sorry, to the pan more than to me. It’s cute. For a moment I’m in Paris.

The moment ends with one of the business dressed ladies coming in shouting in her mobile. She orders a croissant and a latte in between and takes her voice back out again with the coffee to go. I have had my enjoyable moment, it is time for me to leave as well. The lady is busy preparing lunch as I shout my good bye. She smiles and wishes me a good day. I wish I could come here for lunch. The smell is just so right. Soon.

In Cafe du Coin there is no place for unnecessary things.

Coffee 2 €
Espresso 2 €
Latte with 2 shots espresso & filled rye bread/ciabatta 7,80 €
Cafe au lait & croissant with jam 6 €
Lunch: salads, soup and stew 7-10 € (also suitable for late lunchers, served btw 11 – 16)

Fiilis 9 (Favourite)

@ Unioninkatu 26, when you walk down Esplanadi turn right before Havis Amanda
Open weekdays 8-16, saturdays 10-17, sundays only if you call in advance and order enough

www.cafeducoin.fi



Leave a comment